Day 29 – 156.6kg / 345.2lbs – Week 4 Total: -7kg / -15.4lbs

4

There we go, 4 weeks, 15.4lbs. Not a bad pace but it could’ve been so much better too without all of that weight having gone during the first two weeks… my waist had gone down 1cm (0.4 inches) from last Monday and it is now 148cm / 58.3 inches.

I’m testing out my new form of eating and so far it seems… borderline ridiculous. 2000-2200kcal in a day is a ridiculously high amount of food to eat, in pure quantity when it’s clean eating. This can be seen on the pictures below, it’s just a lot of food.

It’s … almost funny how I think that way nowadays, I didn’t get to this size by accident, it was years and years of hard work that made me as morbidly obese as I am, eating 4000-6000kcal a day of … junk. Yet here I am looking at that 2000kcal and… wow, it just seems more in volume than anything I ate before it. Since those 4000-6000 kcal meals would have been done in… a single or two sittings at most…

I could actually break it down a bit more in detail, I did calculate the calories into the pictures, but let’s look at the raw ingredients of today, just in case someone’s doubting my words.

Rye Bread slice: 67kcal

2x slices of cheese: 20g – 350kcal / 100g – 70kcal

1x slice of turkey: 10g – 110kcal / 100g – 11kcal

Buttery thingie spread (don’t judge me, this is a hard language.. thingie): 10g – 100g / 400kcal – 40kcal

Oatmeal – ~80g of Oats, 380kcal / 100g – 304kcal

Ground Beef 10% Fat – 400g – 170kcal / 100g, – 680kcal

Veggies – 600g – 33kcal / 100g, – 198kcal

White Rice (I know I know) – 200g boiled – 157kcal / 100g – 314kcal

3-cheese flavored food cream..thingie – 1dl – 120kcal

Skyr: 170g – 60kcal / 100g – 102kcal

Banana: 100kcal

In total: 2006kcal ~ I actually do round the things up, so my total in my pictures is more along the lines of 2030.

But just look at that list. It’s an immense amount of food, and to believe I used to eat, without even giving it a thought, 3 times that much? Geeze.

Not to mention… my BMR is around 3000kcal, that’s something I require just for breathing in a day and wouldn’t gain weight on, not including the exercise I put my body through.

… I’m at a loss for words at what I have been doing to my body all these years. And to think it took getting MS to make me become serious about my health, once and for all. I was (still am) [technically we all are] slowly dying. The weight crushing me that was put on me by my unhealthy habits.

Learned behavior from my parents, and I could blame them for it but… at some point you just have to stand up and face the music It was their fault that I was over 100lbs in kindergarten, that is no lie, but the fact that I’m over 340lbs at the age of 27? That’s my own fault. In my eyes it is your parents fault for making you the way you are, but it is your fault for staying that way.

We as human beings can change our methods and views of the world.

I can change.

Let’s have a look at my exercise and eating for today (though we just looked at my eating pretty well, but… this time with pictures!)

Exercise – Monday 10.11.2014 – Shoulders/Biceps/Triceps

Managed to do it with correct form this time, slow and nice, concentrating on each movement, can try for 10 reps on Thursday for these! Also, think I’ll go pick up a 20kg (44lbs) kettlebell at some point, I like those things, they’re fun to just swing around too, which I do not count into these things I put in here.

3×8 bicep curl – 14kg / 30.1lbs dumbbell

3×8 hammer curl – 14kg / 30.1lbs dumbbell

3×8 military press – 14kg / 30.1lbs dumbbell

3×12 skull crusher – 16kg / 35.2lbs kettlebell

3×12 tricep extension – 16kg / 35.2lbs kettlebell

20min stretching

1h walking with doggie

Eating – Monday 10.11.2014

Breakfast 1# – Oatmeal

WP_20141110_002

Breakfast 2# – Rye Bread with Cheese and Turkey

WP_20141110_003

Lunch 1# & 2# – Ground Beef with Rice and Veggies

WP_20141110_004

Dinner 1# – Ground Beef with Veggies

WP_20141110_001

Dinner 2# – Skyr & Banana

WP_20141110_002 (2)

Day’s Total – ~2030kcal

We’ll see where this month takes us, the first week goal is 2lbs but I have a feeling I might actually gain weight instead of lose it for the first week, it just.. the food amount seems so ridiculous to me. I can’t help but think it’s .. too much, even if I have shown with calculations and details that… it really is not.

Thank you for reading, sharing, liking, hating, whatever it is you do!

Till next time, my friend!


3 responses to “Day 29 – 156.6kg / 345.2lbs – Week 4 Total: -7kg / -15.4lbs

  • jesusdiedandlives

    First I want to say how deeply impressed I am with your choice to eat healthy and document it. I am going to pray and pray for you. Second, this documentation of food will help me so much to watch what another person with MS lesions is eating and whether or not you have a relapse or what your likes are and if some of my ideas about food preferences are on track about what causes MS and RRMS, etc. Could you do me some huge help? Would you pick up the cheese flavored thingie and butter thingie and read the ingredients lists for “enzyme-modified” or “interesterified?” Also, what were some of your absolute favorite or most eaten foods (processed foods…) when you began to have the symptoms? On another note, I have been eating healthy since January and it is awesome! One bowl of non-processed soup like Amy’s brand fills me up whereas two or three left me hungry of Progresso or Campbell’s before. And another thought, you mentioned your parent’s as having the fault – I have thought about this quite a bit and this is my take. Our parents were told that the food was safe to eat and they were told that there are regulating authorities who stand watch over us and make sure that everything is okay. So, our parents gave us food and we ate it. But the problem is that somewhere in the regulating agency there was some kind of mischief or problem or uneducated person in authority who did not know how to best keep watch over the people they were entrusted with by vigilantly keeping an eye on ingredients. Now, some people like the Paul Newman and Newman’s Own realized this; he was very educated about healthy food and developed safer product lines. All I’m saying is, I don’t blame you or your parents or anyone who eats food. I think the blame lies squarely on the shoulders of those who dropped the ball and let the unhealthy “frankenfoods” (I love this word.) get into our cupboards. Anyway, I have lists of foods and products on my website that should cause lesions: http://jesusdiedandlives.wordpress.com I’ll help you all I can.

    Like

    • wantneedwill

      I do apologize, but my help might not be exactly what you were thinking of, as I am Finnish, our foods are simply not the same, my friend. As such it would be hard for me to look for certain terms as I don’t know them in Finnish, would just get lost in translation, in a manner of speaking.

      I’ve never really had a taste for processed foods, believe it or not. I’ve only been bad with portions as the things I’ve eaten have always been self-made from fresh ingredients – just in large quantities. Learned to cook at a very early age, so again, sorry, can’t help you there. Not to mention if I would’ve eaten any processed foods as a child in Finland… I’m sorry but again, just simply not the same as in the States, our products differ vastly. Our ingredients are mostly fresh and our animals do not get fed anything gene manipulated, our chickens are free-range etc, etc. The happy things of living in a country with only 5 million people 🙂

      If I were you, and you seem to truly care about MS and the causes, I’d definitely look into the vitamin D3, as both a medication as well as a prevention method. As MS (as you know) is mostly only found as you get away from the equator, the northern (or southern) you are, the higher the risk. Coincidence? Perhaps, studies can’t show the link – but they can show that most (if not all) MS patients have lowered levels of vitamin D3 in their bloodstream and that supplementing more can help. I’d look into that with great care – especially for your friend! Currently that’s the only ‘medication’ that I’m taking for my MS (would recommend to your friend as well!), as it is very inexpensive and completely side-effect free and natural – something you’d generate normally from the Sun [technically everything a high end pharmaceutics company would hate – inexpensive and side-effect free]. I take around 9000 IU a day, and so far feeling great. *knocks on wood* (Taking more than 10000 IU a day is not suggested, but even if you did, you’d have to take a moderate overdose over 10000 IU for months and months, every single day, before seeing anything negative, a lot of information out there, which I’m sure you have/will find)

      And let me get this straight to you, I am not blaming my parents for my MS, only my overweight childhood, that’s all – I’m a big boy now, and can take the responsibility for myself – as well as realize when there is no one to blame or hold responsible, things just happen sometimes – and that is fine. 🙂

      All the best for you and I hope your friend doesn’t find themselves on the bad end of this disease. As it varies from person to person very drastically.

      P.S – You might want to look into the drink section more than on the so-called “frankenfoods”. As the only, truly, processed ‘food’ that I’ve consumed vast amounts of throughout my childhood and youth before my diagnosis, was Pepsi and Coca-Cola. Not to mention the drink industry is the leading cause of childhood diabetes and obesity… which in my eyes are far more important and worrying than a few patients with MS, like myself. That’s the nation’s future going awry as a whole, with a clear cause and effect, unlike with an ancient chronic disease that only 2.3 million people worldwide have and people can only speculate on the cause of – at least, that’s my opinion of it 🙂

      Thank you for the comment and oh boy what a wall of text of a response I made for you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • jesusdiedandlives

        Your clear and kind response helps me a lot! I am very interested in the idea of far from the equator. See Danisco is a major maker of enzymes and is mainly located in northern Europe. http://www.danisco.com/about-dupont/locations/ Do you eat many foods with enzymes? Some enzymes create a reaction with lecithin to make a lysolecithin which causes lesions on our central nervous system. (Your food and living seems like a dream to have all that fresh and healthy food at your fingertips!) I see the cola problems so much here. People talk like they are addicted to them. So, glad you escaped colas! I can keep thinking about your situation and if you like make suggestions occasionally. I really like Finnish people and am so glad to meet you.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment